Mountain Of God

The following teaching has been used several times while preaching at either a nursing home or in prison. Like 99.999% of the time what you will  read below is unedited and remains in its original state.th

Lastly, I am available for speaking engagements at your church during this summer of 2014. For more information have your church send me an email @ littlethunder727@hotmail.com  As always I share whatever the Holy Spirit desires at the time.

And now todays message;


Mountain of God

I want to take you on a journey. It will not take long. You will not even have to leave the confines of where you are right now. You need no money whatsoever. You don’t need to pack a suitcase or even a backpack.  In fact I am proud to inform you that you will not even have any need for food or water. Nor will you have need for a new pair of shoes. Yet, through it all you will need to climb a mountain. And what is amazing you will not need to board a plane or train to get to there.
The truth of the matter is this; all you will need is the following two items first a willingness to climb and second the desire to learn. There is a downside to this journey that some may not like. That is you must climb the mountain alone. No help from your friends, parents or even your husband or wife. This is a journey you need to take alone.

Exo 3:1   Now Moses kept the flock of Jethro his father in law, the priest of Midian: and he led the flock to the backside of the desert, and came to the mountain of God, even to Horeb.

Exo 3:12   And he said, Certainly I will be with thee; and this shall be a token unto thee, that I have sent thee: When thou hast brought forth the people out of Egypt, ye shall serve God upon this mountain.

Exo 19:3  And Moses went up unto God, and the Lord called unto him out of the mountain, saying, Thus shalt thou say to the house of Jacob, and tell the children of Israel;
4.  Ye have seen what I did unto the Egyptians, and how I bare you on eagles’ wings, and brought you unto myself.
5.  Now therefore, if ye will obey my voice indeed, and keep my covenant, then ye shall be a peculiar treasure unto me above all people: for all the earth is mine:
6.  And ye shall be unto me a kingdom of priests, and an holy nation. These are the words which thou shalt speak unto the children of Israel.

Now, I bet you are wondering what is on top of the mountain right? Well, this you can rest a sure of; if God sent you up the mountain there has to be something at the top right?

So lets see what is up there. But first you need to do something that even Moses did when he got to the top.

Exodus 3.4 & 5 And when the Lord saw that he turned aside to see, God called unto him out of the midst of the bush, and said, Moses, Moses. And he said, Here am I.
5.  And he said, draw not nigh hither: put off thy shoes from off thy feet, for the place whereon thou standest is holy ground.

Take off my shoes but why? Now I wonder if you realize why God required Moses to remove his shoes. The answer is rather easy; to remove your shoes or sandals before God is a sign of submission to His authority and your willingness to give up your rights.

Now that you have taken off your shoes the next stages transpires.
First there needs to be praise and worship; Listen to what David wrote in   Psa 48:1   Great is the Lord, and greatly to be praised in the city of our God, in the mountain of his holiness.
And of course when we praise the Lord His does inhabit our praises. Thus making us drawn closer to Him.
Now as you praising God in the privacy of your own quarters you may get lost in praising God. When I began years ago I would be with God only a matter of thirty minutes and then go about my day. Later, I found how much I loved praising God without anyone to let me know of my bad singing or anything else like that. Today, I enjoy spending hours upon hours with God in praise and worship. The more and longer I praise Him the deeper I fall in love with Him.
After a while I realized I was losing track of time and sometimes find myself on my face on the ground before God. What I thought was only a matter of several minutes in actually turned out to be four and five hours in prayer and meditation before God. Thus, I had climbed the mountain and was with God.
I remember what transpired on one of my birthdays several years ago. I was scheduled to go to Greenfield Village with some brothers in the Lord. Long before they were to arrive I set out to do my morning devotions as usual. Around seven in the morning God called me up to the mountaintop. The next thing I know I was hearing the voices of my brothers in the faith and I was still on my face before God. By the time I got up at least to my knees it was closing in at eleven in the morning.  As I was coming down from the mountain they joined in with prayer and praise. It was not until nearly high noon before we finally left my apartment and made our way to Greenfield village.

What to know what transpires when you are on the mountaintop with God? Listen to what the very Word of God has to say…

Isa 2:3   And many people shall go and say, Come ye, and let us go up to the mountain of the Lord, to the house of the God of Jacob; and he will teach us of his ways, and we will walk in his paths: for out of Zion shall go forth the law, and the word of the Lord from Jerusalem.

Isa 40:9   O Zion, that bringest good tidings, get thee up into the high mountain; O Jerusalem, that bringest good tidings, lift up thy voice with strength; lift it up, be not afraid; say unto the cities of Judah, Behold your God!

Jer 31:23  Thus saith the Lord of hosts, the God of Israel; As yet they shall use this speech in the land of Judah and in the cities thereof, when I shall bring again their captivity; the Lord bless thee, O habitation of justice, and mountain of holiness.

Eze 20:40   For in mine holy mountain, in the mountain of the height of Israel, saith the Lord God, there shall all the house of Israel, all of them in the land, serve me: there will I accept them, and there will I require your offerings, and the first fruits of your oblations, with all your holy things.

Dan 9:20   And whiles I was speaking, and praying, and confessing my sin and the sin of my people Israel, and presenting my supplication before the Lord my God for the holy mountain of my God;
21.  Yea, whiles I was speaking in prayer, even the man Gabriel, whom I had seen in the vision at the beginning, being caused to fly swiftly, touched me about the time of the evening oblation.
22.  And he informed me, and talked with me, and said, O Daniel, I am now come forth to give thee skill and understanding.
Micah 4:2   And many nations shall come, and say, Come, and let us go up to the mountain of the Lord, and to the house of the God of Jacob; and he will teach us of his ways, and we will walk in his paths: for the law shall go forth of Zion, and the word of the Lord from Jerusalem.

Do you desire to get close to God? Are you tired of living in the Sahara Desert and want to drink of the Living Water that is at the top of the mountain? Then why not make today the first day towards reaching the summit.   Will God call you everyday to make that climb? Perhaps not! But each day can be and should be filled with the adventure and prospect of being called to the summit.
Will others know that you have been with God? They did when it came to Moses. Listen to what it says in Exodus 34.29-35
29.  And it came to pass, when Moses came down from mount Sinai with the two tables of testimony in Moses’ hand, when he came down from the mount, that Moses wist not that the skin of his face shone while he talked with him.
30.  And when Aaron and all the children of Israel saw Moses, behold, the skin of his face shone; and they were afraid to come nigh him.
31.  And Moses called unto them; and Aaron and all the rulers of the congregation returned unto him: and Moses talked with them.
32.  And afterward all the children of Israel came nigh: and he gave them in commandment all that the Lord had spoken with him in mount Sinai.
33.  And till Moses had done speaking with them, he put a vail on his face.
34.  But when Moses went in before the Lord to speak with him, he took the vail off, until he came out. And he came out, and spake unto the children of Israel that which he was commanded.
And the children of Israel saw the face of Moses that the skin of Moses’ face shone: and Moses put the vail upon his face again, until he went in to speak with him.

Thus, the more time you spend with God the more God’s glory will shine through you. 

So, beloved, are you ready to climb the very mountain of God like Moses did? Or will you be one of many who chose to say at the base of the mountain and simply watch?
Remember this very simple fact; the closer you choose to get to God the closer He will draw closer to you.

In closing let me share this with you;

When Stanley found Livingstone, the great missionary who spent thirty years in darkest Africa, he wanted him to come back to England with him, but Livingstone refused to go. Two days later he wrote in his diary: March 19, my birthday. My Jesus, my King, my life, my all. I again dedicate my whole self to Thee. Accept me and grant me, O gracious Father, that ere the year is gone I may finish my work. In Jesus name I ask it.” A year later his servant found him on his knees dead.”

 

 

Psalm 97:10“Let those who love the LORD hate evil, for he guards the lives of his faithful ones and delivers them from the hand of the wicked.”

Brought to you by BibleGateway.com. Copyright (C) . All Rights Reserved.