Year End Clearance

 594041007

I bet you thought this entry was in regards to some store hawking their goods right?

Gotcha!

What this is about is you clearing out unwanted emails

emailbord

As you may know, not all email is spam!  Some email comes your way from various places.  Example: when I recently moved I was getting mail from seemingly every corner of the globe; and im not just talking about email. All of which I was glad to receive as it provided ideas how to fix up my little corner of this place called Earth.

Now you know that companies X, Y,and Z will send mail for a limited time. And to cut their losses they will discontinue sending you their material out of cost cutting measures. That is how they operate using the postal system.

Email is different. To companies X,Y and Z email is a freebie. Thus, they have nothing to lose as long as you or your email provider does not declare it as spam. To stop getting email from just about any company look down at the bottom of their email. In very small print you ought to see the word, “unsubscribe.”   Click on that word and you should no longer receive that companies email within a weeks time. If after seven working days you continue to receive their material then you can classify it as spam.

Just how often does yours truly clean up his email ? Normally, it comes down to twice a year. But I make sure its done in the last two weeks in December, mostly because I like to have a clean slate going into January.

Word to the wise

I maintain three mail accounts: one for my friends, my Gmail account for 98% of Google related material and my third strictly for business which gets a once over before deleting. How many email accounts should you have? The answer is simple; whatever you are comfortable with. If you can handle only one that’s okay too.

I now return you to your favorite shopping location.

MERRY CHRISTMAS TO ONE AND ALL

PS

Never do the following #1 never give anyone you work with your personal email address, not even your  boss! Give them a different email address. #2 Never give out your password(s) not even to your spouse, family members and so forth.

See you in 2015

happy new year 003

 

